Inspirational Books: Why Now is the Time to Crush It! Cash In on Your Passion by Gary Vaynerchuk

Like This!

I was never into reading books and especially books where the intention is to learn from them as opposed to the ones that allow you to escape the real world for a little while.  When I started my wedding photography business I figured out one thing: I didn’t have it all figured out and so my search for answers began.  I was handed a book by my mentor, David Toth, specifically Love is the Killer App by Tim Sanders.  That was the first book I had finished since being in graduate school!  So this evidently started a chain reaction because I realized I like reading when it was something I really wanted to read about and especially if I was in need of some help.

My latest read was nothing short of spectacular.  There are so many tidbits of information I could hardly keep my pen down from all the note taking (which I haven’t done since graduate school either!)  Why Now is the Time to Crush It!  Cash In on Your Passion by Gary Vaynerchuk is a must read for anyone thinking about starting their own business and especially for those just getting started.  I wish I would have read it before I started mine because he gives you a list of how to get your brand out there and get noticed.  Gary addresses the shift from marketing through newspaper, tv, and radio to the internet and how to go about this so called “crushing it”.  If you are passionate about something then why not make it your life’s work?  Two of the biggest keys for me are to always be yourself and to just have patience.  It is a pretty fast read (if you aren’t constantly taking notes) and he gets right down to the nuts and bolts with his 3 simple rules:  Love your family. Work super hard.  Live your passion.  Right on Gary!

Here are a few great quotes as a teaser for you to go out and pick up this book:

“Skills are cheap; Passion is priceless”

“Cream always rises to the top, no matter how many cups of coffee you pour.”

“It’s not about how many fans you have, it’s about how  passionate they are.”

“Lots of people can play the piano, but not everyone can be Billy Joel”

“Patience is the secret sauce” – my favorite!

Alright I don’t want to spoil it so go get yourself a copy and Crush It!

Here is a link to purchase it on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Crush-Time-Cash-Your-Passion/dp/0061914177/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1278643318&sr=8-1

For a list of more inspirational reads please visit my website at:  http://www.daniellevennard.com/#/inspirational-books/

Thanks for reading!

DV

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

~ by DanielleVennard on July 8, 2010.

Leave a comment