Wedding Heirloom: Megan + Brian’s Wedding Drawing – August 9, 2013 – Live Drawing During the Reception

Last fall I was given the chance to break out of my comfort zone and do something I haven’t done since my time as an undergraduate art student at Kutztown University.  The opportunity of doing a live drawing was presented to me by my good friend and wedding planner, Tonia Lowe of Aribella Events, while enjoying one of our semi-monthly meet-ups at the local Starbucks.  I was a bit hesitant to accept her challenge as I was always a bit nervous in undergrad when a professor was looking over my shoulder to check out the progress of my live figure drawing.  In person, at a very important event such as a wedding, the pressure was going to be much more intense.

The plan was to photograph Megan and Brian’s first dance, download the images to my laptop, pick the best one and start sketching.  I anticipated their parents to be somewhere nearby to enable me to get a single image to work from with them in the background as the couple danced together.  As it turned out the seating assignments had gotten a little mixed up on entry into the reception.  I got a great image of Megan and Brian but none not one of the parents since they ended up at a back table nowhere near the dance floor.  Tonia suggested that I take some additional images of the parents during the speeches and it just so happened that all four parents ended up front and center to congratulate Megan and Brian.  I was able to put together a composite sketch using not one, but four different photographs.  Here are the images that gave inspiration to the finished piece below:

Bride and Groom enjoying their first dance togetherFather of the Bride giving a toastMother of the bride raising her glass in honor of the married coupleMother and Father of the Groom during the toast to the married couple

I was very fortunate to have received permission by the hired photographer, Lindsay Docherty, of Lindsay Docherty Photography to photograph during the first dance and parent toasts.  (Check out her blog post with lots of her awesome photographs from Megan + Brian’s Wedding at http://blog.lindsaydocherty.com/2013/09/philadelphia-wedding-photographer.html)  Being a wedding photographer myself I know the risk involved (from prior experience) in allowing another photographer outside of your studio to enter the mix and possibly get in the way of doing your job.  I assured Lindsay that I would park myself in one spot and respect the needs of her and her staff.    Everything went super smooth and she was even cool enough to catch a couple images of me working on the drawing.

Danielle Vennard working on a live black and white charcoal drawing during a weddingDanielle Vennard working on a live black and white charcoal drawing during a weddingDanielle Vennard working on a live black and white charcoal drawing during a wedding as the mother of the bride stops to take a peekHere is a documentation of the black and white charcoal drawing as it evolved from the progress I made at the end of the wedding night to finishing it up in my home studio:

Danielle Vennard Wedding Heirloom:  Black and White Charcoal DrawingDanielle Vennard Wedding Heirloom:  Black and White Charcoal DrawingDanielle Vennard Wedding Heirloom:  Black and White Charcoal DrawingDanielle Vennard Wedding Heirloom:  Black and White Charcoal DrawingDanielle Vennard Wedding Heirloom:  Black and White Charcoal DrawingDanielle Vennard Wedding Heirloom:  Black and White Charcoal Drawing

And here is the finished piece:

Danielle Vennard Wedding Heirloom:  Black and White Charcoal Drawing

Thank you so much once again to Tonia of Aribella Events and Lindsay of Lindsay Docherty Photography for giving me this opportunity to utilize another facet of my artistic arsenal.  It was an awesome experience and I am very much hoping that I get the chance to do it again.

Thank you the readers for your time and attention as I showcase another one of my many wedding adventures.

Contact for 2014 Availability

Contact for 2014 Availability

Have you liked my Biz page yet?

Have you liked my Biz page yet?

Follow me on Twitter!

Follow me on Twitter!

~ by Danielle Vennard on February 5, 2014.

2 Responses to “Wedding Heirloom: Megan + Brian’s Wedding Drawing – August 9, 2013 – Live Drawing During the Reception”

  1. You have an amazing talent!! Beautifully done!

    Like

  2. […] If you would like to check out two previous black and white wedding drawings please visit my past blog of Christina + Tom here:  http://daniellevennard.wordpress.com/2012/12/05/wedding-heirloom-hand-drawn-black-and-white-charcoal-drawing-by-danielle-vennard/  as well as Megan + Brian’s Live Wedding Drawing here:  http://daniellevennard.wordpress.com/2014/02/05/wedding-heirloom-megan-brians-wedding-drawing-august… […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

